CFP: Southern Society for Philosophy and Psychology

The Southern Society for Philosophy and Psychology announces a call for papers for its One Hundred and Eighth Annual Meeting to be held Louisville, KY from March 10-12. SSPP meetings feature concurrent programs in Philosophy and Psychology, as well as plenary sessions jointly sponsored by the Philosophy and Psychology Program Committees. The deadline for all philosophy submissions is December 1, 2015.

(To view the CFP for psychology, see here.)

Invited Speakers:

  • Joëlle ProustInstitut Jean-Nicod
  • Jerome WakefieldNYU 

Invited Symposia:

Celebrating the work of Fred Dretske

  • Chaired by Ken Aizawa (Rutgers-Camden)
  • Fred Adams (Delaware)
  • Brian McLaughlin (Rutgers-New Brunswick)

The imagination, choices, and interpersonal understanding

  • Chaired by Amy Kind (Claremont McKenna)
  • Jennifer Church (Vassar)
  • Laurie Paul (UNC)

The philosophy of touch

  • Chaired by Kristin Andrews (York)
  • Maria Botero (Sam Houston)
  • Matthew Fulkerson (UCSD)
  • Lana Kuhle (Illinois)

The Philosophy Program Committee encourages the submission of single-authored papers as well as symposium proposals. Selection will be based on quality, relevance to issues at the intersection of Philosophy and Psychology (as well as other sciences of the mind), and program considerations–The aim of the program committee is to present a program that is as balanced as the quality of submissions in each area will allow (Though papers addressing issues of gender, race, sexuality, bias, and social exclusion are especially encouraged).

Paper submissions exceeding 3,000 words will not be considered. Each paper submission must include a word count and abstract of no more than 150 words. Self-reference should be deleted to permit anonymous review. Proposals for symposia must include a 750 word proposal for the symposium, a list of presenters and affiliations, and a 300 word abstract for each proposed paper. All papers and proposal must employ gender-neutral language; and all submissions must be made using our online submission system at:

Under the Keywords section, in addition to descriptions of the submission, please include any of the following that are applicable: To volunteer to be a session chair: ‘Chair.’ To comment on a paper: ‘Comment.’ To be considered for a Graduate Student Travel Award: ‘GSTA.’ To be considered for the Griffith Prize: ‘Griffith.’ For details and eligibility see:

Please direct any Philosophy Program related questions to the Philosophy Program Chair, Heidi Maibom,

Back to Top