Call for Philosophy Papers


The Southern Society for Philosophy and Psychology announces a call for papers for its One Hundred and Fifth Annual Meeting, to be held February 28 – March 2, 2013 in Austin, TX. SSPP meetings feature concurrent programs in Philosophy and Psychology, as well as plenary sessions jointly sponsored by the Philosophy and Psychology Program Committees. The deadline for all submissions is October 15, 2012.

President’s Invited Speaker:

Patricia Smith Churchland

UC San Diego/Salk Institute, San Diego


Invited Speakers:


Austen Clark

 University of Connecticut

Fred Dretske

Duke University

Michael Tye

University of Texas, Austin

Invited Symposia:

Epistemology of Perception

Jack Lyons

Susanna Siegel


Owen Flanagan

Steven Horst

New Perspectives on Type Identity

Alyssa Ney

Thomas Polger

Introspection & Self-Knowledge

Peter Carruthers

Brie Gertler

Eric Schwitzgebel

Attention! (Joint Symposium)

Marisa Carrasco

Robert Kentridge

Christopher Mole

Sebastian Watzl

Epistemic Paradoxes

Krista Lawlor

Roy Sorensen

Michael Veber




The Philosophy Program Committee encourages the submission of papers and symposium proposals. Their selection will be based on quality and relevance to Philosophy, Psychology, and other sciences of the mind. The aim of the committee is to present a program as balanced as the quality of submissions in each area permits.

Submissions exceeding 3,000 words will not be considered. Submissions should include a word count and an abstract of no more than 150 words. Self-reference should be deleted to permit blind reviewing. All papers submitted and presented should employ gender-neutral language. All submissions must be made using our online submission system at:

Under the Keywords section, in addition to descriptions of the submission, please include any of the following if they are applicable: To volunteer to be a session chair: ‘Chair.’ To comment on a paper: ‘Comment.’ To be considered for a Graduate Student Travel Award: ‘GSTA.’ To be considered for the Griffith Prize: ‘Griffith.’ For details and eligibility see:

Please direct Philosophy Program related questions to the Program Chair, Rik Hine at:

Back to Top
%d bloggers like this: