CFA: Real Possibilities, Indeterminism and Free Will


The conference “Real Possibilities, Indeterminism and Free Will” will take place at the University of
Konstanz, Germany on 18-21 March 2015.

The conference will mark the final phases of two ongoing projects at the University of Konstanz:

“What is really possible? Philosophical explorations in branching-history based real modality”
funded by a VIDI grant of the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO),


“Indeterminism Ltd. An intervention on the free will debate”
funded by a Starting Grant of the European Research Council (ERC).

The first project centers on formal and metaphysical aspects of real possibilities for the future. The
second project centers on the role that the open future can play for understanding agency in our
indeterministic world. The goal of this conference is to provide a forum for discussing those two lines
of research and their intersection.

For more information visit our website:


We invite abstracts on all topics related to the conference theme. Blinded abstracts of 500-1000
words should be submitted by 15 November 2014 via Easy Chair:
. In the Easy Chair system you will be asked to upload your blinded abstract in pdf
format and enter a brief summary of about 100 words into the abstract field. Papers should be suited
for 30 minutes presentations (+ 10 minutes discussion). The language of the conference is English.

In case you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us via


Submission:     November 15, 2014
Notification:   January 15, 2015
Conference:     March 18-21, 2015


Mark Balaguer
Fabrice Correia
Wlodek Rabinowicz
Jacob Rosenthal
Hans Rott
Anne Sophie Spann
Niko Strobach
Kadri Vihvelin
more PC members t.b.a.


Rani Anjum
Jan Broersen
Ruth Groff
Geert Keil
Erasmus Mayr
Stephen Mumford
Tim O’Connor
Peter Øhrstrøm
John Pemberton
Tomasz Placek
Gottfried Seebaß
Helen Steward
Barbara Vetter


The workshop is organised by Thomas Müller and his group:

Marius Backmann
Michael De
Jesse Mulder
Dawa Ometto
Tim Räz
Antje Rumberg
Niels van Miltenburg
Verena Wagner

This event is made possible by funding from:
Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO):
European Research Council (ERC):

Back to Top
%d bloggers like this: