CFP: Minds, Brains, and Consciousness

Proposals are welcome for the Third International Conference on Philosophy of Mind, which will be held at University of Minho, Braga (Portugal), on October 11-12, 2017.

The main theme of the Conference is “Minds, Brains and Consciousness”.

Graduate students, junior researchers and senior scholars are welcome to submit their work.

Keynote speakers:

  • Prof. Andy Clark (University of Edinburgh)
  • Prof. Anil Seth (University of Sussex)

Abstract submission:

We invite submission for a 30 minute presentation (followed by 15 minute discussion). Topics of interest might include (but are not limited to):

  • Consciousness and the Predictive Brain
  • Embodied and Extended Perspectives on Conscious Experience
  • Consciousness, Information Integration, and the Global Workspace
  • Computational models of the Brain
  • Consciousness and Social Cognition
  • Neuroscience of Consciousness
  • Bayesian approaches to the Brain
  • Scientific Study of Consciousness
  • Extended Mind and Cognition
  • Neural Correlates of Consciousness
  • Other topics that fall under the general discussion

An extended abstract of approximately 500-750 words should be prepared for blind review and include a cover page with full name, institution, contact information and short bio. Files should be submitted in doc(x) word.

Please indicate in the subject of the message the following structure:
“3rd Inter. Conf. First Name Last Name – title of abstract.”

We will have a modality for poster’s presentation. You should indicate explicitly for which modality you are submitting your abstract (paper or poster). Printed posters should be prepared to A0 portrait size: 84cm width x 120cm height.

As we have a limited space for conferences, some submissions submitted can be allocated to the poster session.

We intend to produce a collected volume based upon contributions to the conference.

Proposals must be sent to Further queries can be directed to the same address.

Deadline for submissions: April 23, 2017.

Deadline for notification of acceptance: May 14, 2017.

Organizing Committee: Diana Neiva, Steven S. Gouveia, Dr. Manuel Curado (University of Minho).

Back to Top